TLAC 2015 (Collaborative Learning in the Arts)

“Everything you can imagine is real.”
Pablo Picasso

“Creativity takes courage. ”
Henri Matisse

TLAC (Trillium Lakelands Arts Camp) is only 4 days away. It brings together approximately 400 of our boards most creative grade 7-12 students and educators to learn and share our love of the arts for 6 days at Camp White Pine. This will be my sixth year attending and it always one of the highlights of my year. As a teacher I get to spend time learning from and with so many talented and wonderful students. I get to see first hand how the arts positively impacts so many of our students, staff and guest instructors. Watching these kids create spectacular pieces of visual art from their imaginations, learn to play and then present a number of pieces of music, develop complex dance routines, write and perform emotionally powerful spoken word poetry and choreograph/present a full music theatre number always leaves me humbled and in awe.

When the school year begins to weigh heavy upon my shoulder a trip to TLAC always revives my teaching spirit. While the artistic skill of these students leave me amazed and the expertise of the instructors always provide me with great ideas to take back to my own class, it is not the products of their work that inspires me. Rather it is the inclusive and positive energy they give. Their youthful enthusiasm is infectious. Their willingness to accept and support everyone is inspiring. From the moment they depart their buses they are ready to share this unique experience TOGETHER. It does not matter if you have never been to TLAC or don’t know anyone there, the positive ‘vibe’ brings everyone together.

In my mind it is what the ideal school should be. Student and adults learning from each other, following and sharing their passions/expertise and located on a beautiful piece of property where your 4 walls are the water, forest, sky and ground. I can’t wait to get there on Sunday…and I look forward to sharing a laugh with you all.

mark

Leave a Reply

