A Second Chance…Time to Remove My Shackles

How many of you have finished a school year wishing you could have the year over again? Our job is so unlike most others. How many carpenters wish they could rebuild a house? Well, if one of them built your home, you may want to get out of there as fast as possible!

For us, there is no one strategy, no one big idea, no one framework that will ensure success. If you follow current building codes and construction plans your structure will nearly always be sound and successful. It is one exciting and ubiquitously frustrating reality of being a teacher. No one plan works all of the time.

This year (my 9th as a teacher) was both a success and failure in many ways. So much so that is has left me seriously questioning the structure, goals, organization, and future of our school system and my practice in particular. Every summer I take time to reflect on my craft and choose an area or two in which to learn more about to improve my practice. This year however I am finding that one or two areas is not enough.

I am fundamentally frustrated by the rigid nature of our bureaucratic school system and the narrow minded view of what we do as educators. I continue to follow dynamic, independent educators on Twitter and yearn to push my classroom further from the norm. The old school view is no longer good enough.

Using technology, personal learning opportunities and talking with my students, I should be able to make the educational experience much more relevant for my students and useful to their future selves.

The more I reflect, the more I realize I have allowed others in our system to limit my actions. No longer will I be talked into submission by the naysayers and fear-mongers. By limiting my own actions and suppressing my own ideas and beliefs I have shackled myself to the conformists views of the education system. This ends now!

I feel more liberated than ever before. I can’t wait for September. I am about to become the Frank Sinatra of teachers…hell I am going to do it MY WAY!

I alone have the key! Next year I will get a second chance with my class from this past year. Everyone deserves a second chance…I will not waste mine.

Leave a Reply

